MOOSE JAW'S MOST RELIABLE SOURCE FOR GOLF SINCE 1913!
The Moose Jaw Golf Club began in 1913 as a nine hole course laid out in Ross Park on land donated by H. Y. Smith. In 1919, the course was expanded to an eighteen hole par 72 layout of 5,662 yards. In 1920 the club constructed a new clubhouse on the south edge of the valley near the exhibition grounds. Touted as one of the "sportiest" golf courses in Western Canada, it had a unique first tee situated on the hill forcing players to drive from out-of-bounds over the railway tracks to the fairway in the valley.
The Moose Jaw Golf Club has changed its name several times. During World War II, it was called the Elks' Golf Club and from 1947 to 1968 it became the Willowdale Golf Club. A new recreational facility was opened in 1968 called the Moose Jaw Country Club. A reorganization in 1976 again changed the name to the Hillcrest Sports Centre. In 2008, another administrative move split curling and golf into separate entities, and the club is now called the Hillcrest Golf Club.
The Hillcrest has hosted many provincial tournaments over its history beginning in 1922 with the Saskatchewan Open Golf Championship. More recently the club hosted a very successful Canadian Junior Girl's Championship in 2004 and in 2008 entertained the provincial Senior Men and Senior Women.
Hillcrest Golf Club
1599 Main Street North
Moose Jaw, SK. S6J 1L5
Phone: (306) 693-1921